Colonial America: 13 Colonies and times before the American Revolution

Gadsden Flag: American Revolution

Gadsden Flag: American Revolution

Taking our American Revolution series forward, our research team has produced two key resources on the period.  American Revolution was a landmark event in the history of USA. In 1775 , thirteen colonies of British America revolted, resulting in the formation of the United States of America.
Note:  Gadsden Flag (Image above): The Gadsden flag was a historical American flag with a yellow field depicting a rattlesnake coiled and ready to strike. It was the first flag ever carried into battle by the United States Marine Corps, during the American Revolution
Resources updated on American Revolution:

  • America before Revolution: Before the Revolution, America was a colonial mix of several nations, each promoting its own interests and customs. List of nations which setup colonies in Colonial America.
  • Thirteen Colonies: The thirteen original British colonies that rose up in revolt are grouped into New England, Middle, and Southern Colonies. Together, they provided enough push to defeat the British and give rise to an independent country.

Your Comments: If you have any comments or feedback to share, please use the comments section below, send us a tweet or write on our facebook wall. We would love to hear from you.

Comments (2) Trackbacks (1)
  1. I am searching for a replica of the “don’t tread on me” flag that I remember from my childhood history textbook. In the photo of the flag as I remember it the snake was devided into separate states. Similar to the Gadsden Flag
    I would appreciate any info

Leave a comment